London, England

Particular: Details

Location: Roehampton, UK

Established: 1841

Total Students: 12,665

Percentage of International Students: 20%

  • The university opened a new library in 2017, designed by Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios. The library houses the Jewish Resource Centre Collection, the Centre for Marian Studies.
  • The university has a modern fitness centre, grass football pitches, a multi-use games area, studio facilities and a sports hall for indoor sports and classes.
The university has following schools-
  • Department of Dance
  • Department of Drama, Theatre and Performance
  • School of Education
  • Department of English and Creative Writing
  • Department of Humanities
  • Department of Life Sciences (including Nursing)
  • Department of Media, Culture and Language
  • Department of Psychology
  • Department of Social Sciences
  • Roehampton University Business School
  • Roehampton University Law School (opened in 2015)
National rankings
Complete (2020)[13] 81
Guardian (2020)[14] 109
Times / Sunday Times (2020)[15] 70
Global rankings
THE (2020)[16] 601–800
British Government assessment
Teaching Excellence Framework[17] Silver
Roehampton consists of four colleges, around which accommodation is centred. Mount Clare is offered to continuing students and Linden House is offered to Postgraduate students, whilst a majority of the others are available to First Year undergraduate students. Since 2014 it has also offered accommodation in central London at the Spring Mews development in Vauxhall, central London. In September 2015, it opened new student accommodation in the grounds of Downshire House – Chadwick Hall. In September 2016 new student accommodation opened on Digby Stuart College – Elm Grove Hall.
  • Digby Stuart College
    • Bede House
    • Elm Grove Hall
    • Lee House
    • Newman House
    • Shaw House
  • Froebel College
  • Aspen House
  • Chadwick Hall
  • Garden Court
  • Lawrence
  • Linden House
  • Mount Clare
  • New Court
  • Old Court
  • Southlands College
  • Aldersgate and Epworth Court
  • Wesley Hall
  • Whitelands College
  • Beverley and Cheltenham
  • Durham and Gilesgate
  • Kings and Melrose
  • Sutherland and Walpole

The university has its roots in the traditions of its four constituent colleges, all of which were founded in the 19th century as women’s teacher training colleges:

Whitelands College – Founded in 1841, the college is one of the five oldest institutions for training educators in England. A flagship women’s college of the Church of England, it was the first college of higher education in the UK to admit women. It occupies a 14-acre site overlooking Richmond Park.

Southlands College – Founded in 1872, the college derives its ethos from its Methodist foundation. It offers an open and valuable community for all of its members, and regularly organises a range of events and activities to help build and support the community.

Digby Stuart College – Established in 1874 as a teacher training college for Roman Catholic women. The college owes its existence to the Society of the Sacred Heart, whose members continue to support the college and the university.

Froebel College – Founded in 1892, the college was established to further the values of Friedrich Fröbel, the German educationalist who pioneered a holistic view of child development. It is one of the UK’s major centres for initial teacher training.

  • NikiAlbon, Youtuber and twin
  • Sammy Albon, Youtuber and twin
  • Toby Anstis, radio DJ
  • Mike Bailey, actor
  • Joey Barton, footballer
  • Lyn Brown, politician
  • Jack Garratt, singer
  • Jon Gilbert, bibliographer
  • Jon Goodman, footballer
  • Allyson Jule, professor/author
  • Daniel Kitson, comedian
  • Samira Makhmalbaf, filmmaker
  • Helen Metcalf, educator/politician
  • Alize Mounter, former Miss England
  • Danielle Perez, former Miss Gibraltar
  • Rita Ramnani, actress and dancer
  • Chris Robshaw, Harlequins and England rugby captain
  • David Rossdale, Bishop of Grimsby
  • DjouminSangaré, footballer
  • Darren Shan, author
  • Joe Tillen, footballer
  • Deepak Tripathi, historian
  • Lamorna Watts, actress
  • Tim Woolcock, painter

If you are planning to study abroad in the UK and targeting this university, you can get in touch with AEC. Give us a call on +91-8448446609 or 011-43334444 to get assistance on call. You can  also write a query and sent it to us at

AEC Education Private Limited

Speak to Our Expert

  • Hidden
  • Hidden
Scroll to Top