Types of University in Australia | Study In Australia


Know More About the Types of Universities in Australia

Excellent teaching and learning methodologies, Academic excellence, Research-based curriculum, & huge job opportunities are some of the reasons for consistently high world rankings of Australian universities. There are many different types of Universities in Australia which were mainly established with the primary goal to provide quality education to students across the globe for a bright, successful and secure future. While you make up your mind where to study in Australia, this blog will guide you to Know more about the Types of Universities in Australia. Going back into history sometimes is a good thing, isn’t it?

Why Choose Australia to Study?

  • Top ranking universities
  • Melting pot of cultures
  • Many options of degrees & majors
  • The Great Outdoors
  • Hassle-free Student Visa
  • Internship/Work opportunities
  • Lively city life
  • Diverse wildlife
  • English language communication
  • Temporary Graduate Visa

Types of Universities in Australia

The 1960s-1970s universities: During the mid-1960s to the 1970s, state governments established Universities in Australia to cope with the demands of higher education. The aim was to make improvements to the existing education pattern and make it better than the educational pattern of existing traditional universities. The following universities came into existence during this period:

Australian Technology Network (ATN): Established in 1999, Australian Technology Network (ATN) was made of a group of five of the most innovative and creative Universities in Australia. Their primary goal was to develop technology & provide solutions so that the economy and society progressed & improved. Directors of Central Institutes of Technology (DOCIT) formed the ATN in 1975 & this group was discontinued in 1982.

The member universities of the Australian Technology Network (ATN) have all round expertise in the area of technology. The members of ATN were:

  • The University of Technology Sydney
  • RMIT University
  • Curtin University
  • University of South Australia
  • Deakin University

Group of Eight (Go8): Established also in 1999, Group of Eight (Go8) is a group of eight top Australian universities famous for providing high quality education and excellent research facilities across the world.  It is one of the largest and oldest educational groups in Australia. Go8 is pioneering the way in research & education, providing quality education & world-class research facilities. That’s why this Group is famous among international students. These Universities have high rankings also. Following are the member universities of this group Go8:

  • The University of Queensland
  • The University of New South Wales Sydney
  • The University of Adelaide
  • Australian National University
  • University of Melbourne
  • University of Sydney
  • The University of Western Australia
  • Monash University

New generation universities: The Australian Government established New generation universities as Colleges of advanced education for students who’ve passed out from higher secondary school. The primary goal was to expose them to the new type of higher education institutions. However, this distinction between university & non-university sector became unjustified and was discontinued in 1988. Member universities are: 

  • Victoria University
  • Canberra University
  • Bond University
  • Australian Catholic University
  • Western Sydney University 
  • The University of Notre Dame 
  • Edith Cowan University

Regional universities: Regional universities network was established in the year 2011 & is based in regional Australia. A total of 7 universities come under Regional Universities Network (RUN). The primary goal of the RUN group is to contribute towards the growth of regional communities & their economies.  The member universities ensure that all regions & communities get access to higher education. They also work towards the goal of producing qualified professionals needed for regional development. Member Universities in Australia are:

  • University of New England
  • Charles Sturt University
  • University of Southern Queensland
  • Federation University
  • University of the Sunshine Coast (USC)
  • CQ University Australia
  • University of Southern Queensland

Final Thoughts

International Students prefer to choose Australia as a top Study destination due to its less-expensive & renowned education. Australia is home to  the world’s third-highest international students and has immensely contributed to top global science and research innovations every year. The Universities in Australia discussed above will help you in selecting the university/program which is most suitable for your educational requirements. We hope that this blog has helped you to understand The Types of Universities in Australia. If you have found this post useful, kindly share this blog.

Scroll to Top