Particular: Details

Location: Europe

Established: 1632

Total Students: 31,186

Percentage of International Students: 36%

The University of Amsterdam offers 62 bachelors’, 73 masters’, 21 research masters’, and 43 other programs through 7 faculties. Out of the total 98 programs are taught in English.

The most popular programs include – Psychiatry and Psychology; Neuroscience; Microbiology; Arts and Humanities; Immunology; and Space Science.

The University of Amsterdam is public research university in Amsterdam, the Netherlands. Established in 1632, the university is the largest university in the Netherlands. It ranks among the top 100 universities in the world and the top 15 universities in Europe. It is research university dealing in extensive research in more than 50 fields of study.

It has four campuses spread across Amsterdam. It offers limited on campus accommodation and for a maximum period of one year.

The university tries to offer student housing to all students through non-profit Housing Corporations not owned by UvA. The Housing Corporations offer apartment-style housing in the City Center, Zuid, Oost, West, Zuid-Oost, and Amsterdam-Noord boroughs of Amsterdam as well as in the suburb of Diemen. Single rooms with private facilities (kitchen, bathroom), single rooms with shared facilities, shared rooms with shared facilities, and couples rooms are available. Students of the opposite sex are permitted to be roommates in all types of rooms. Rooms are anywhere from a few minutes to 45 minutes bike ride to the City Center.


ARWU World[34]

101-150 (2019)

Leiden World[35]

79 (2019)

THE World[37]

62 (2020)

USNWR World[38]

40 (2020)

QS World[36]

64 (2020)

Professors and alumni of the University of Amsterdam have included six Nobel Prize winners and seven Spinoza Prize winners.[6]

Notable current and former professors include winner of the Nobel Peace Prize in 1911 Tobias Asser,[51] mathematician Luitzen Egbertus Jan Brouwer, winner of the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 1901 Jacobus Henricus van ‘t Hoff,[52] winner of the Nobel Prize for Physics in 1910 Johannes Diderik van der Waals,[53] winner of the Nobel Prize for Physics in 1902 Pieter Zeeman,[54] and winner of the Nobel Prize for Physics in 1953 Frits Zernike.[55]

Alumni in the Science area include winner of the Nobel Prize for Medicine in 1929 Christiaan Eijkman,[56] inventor of DNA fingerprinting Alec Jeffreys,[57] physician and one of the founding fathers of gynecology in the Netherlands M.A. Mendes de Leon,[58] astrophysicist and Dutch communist Anton Pannekoek,[59] string theorist Erik Verlinde,[60] Dutch psychiatrist and World War II resistance hero Tina Strobos,[61] ESA astronaut André Kuipers, Dutch botanist Hendrik de Wit, and nutrition education pioneer in Israel, Sarah Bavly.[62]


Alumni in the area of Politics include former Prime Ministers Pieter Cort van der Linden[63] and Joop den Uyl, Belgian prime minister Charles Michel, former president of the European Central Bank, Minister of Finance, and president of the Central Bank of the Netherlands Wim Duisenberg, Member of the European Parliament Thijs Berman, former Secretary General of NATO Joseph Luns, Senate group leader of the Labour Party and former trade union leader Marleen Barth, president of OHIM Wubbo de Boer, former Minister of Defence and former European Commissioner for Internal Market & Services Frits Bolkestein, former Minister of Health, Welfare and Sport Els Borst, state secretary of Health, Welfare and Sport Jet Bussemaker, Minister of Housing, Spatial Planning and the Environment Jacqueline Cramer, Minister of Foreign Trade within the Economic Affairs Frank Heemskerk, Minister of Justice Ernst Hirsch Ballin, Minister of the Interior and Kingdom Relations Guusje ter Horst, former Minister of Social Affairs and Employment and currently deputy director of UNDP Ad Melkert, Minister of Education, Culture and Science Ronald Plasterk  and Prime Minister of Sint Maarten Leona Marlin-Romeo.

In the area of the Arts, notable alumni include cultural analyst Ien Ang, writers Menno ter Braak, Willem Frederik Hermans, J. Slauerhoff, and Simon Vestdijk, Emmy award-winning producer Michael W. King,Actor Jeff Wilbusch, and Roman law specialist Boudewijn Sirks. In the Media area, alumni include Thomas von der Dunk, Dutch cultural historian, writer, and columnist. Alumni in the area of Sports area include Max Euwe, 1935–1937 World Chess Champion. Missionary vicar of the Westerkerk Cristina Pumplun taught at the UvA.

If you are planning to study abroad in Europe and targeting this university, you can get in touch with AEC. Give us a call on +91-8448446609 or 011-43334444 to get assistance on call. You can also write a query and sent it to us at

If you are planning to study abroad in Canada and targeting this university, you can get in touch with AEC. Give us a call on +91-8448446609 or 011-43334444 to get assistance on call. You can also write a query and sent it to us at

AEC Education Private Limited

Speak to Our Expert

  • Hidden
  • Hidden
Scroll to Top